Skip to content

The Election of The Council of The Association of Banks in Cambodia for Term 2022-2023

Hyatt Regency Hotel, Phnom Penh (24/03/2022) – The Association of Banks in Cambodia (The Association) held, in a hybrid format both physical and online through Zoom, its 2021 Annual General Meeting & the Election of its Council for the term 2022-2023.

The Association was established in 1994 and acquired a legal personality through its registration with the Ministry of Interior on 23 November 2012. The Association consists of a total of 75 members, amongst which 57 are commercial banks, 09 are specialised banks, 06 are Branches or International Representative Offices of Banks, 01 Representative from Microfinance Deposit-Taking Institutions (MDIs), 01 Cambodia Microfinance Association (CMA) and 01 Cambodian Association of Finance and Technology (CAFT) – both associations are members to The Association as an institution (and not their individual members). Pursuant to the Articles of Incorporation dated 04 May 2020, The Association is managed by a Council with a minimum of 12 Members, consisting of at least 8 members from Commercial Banks, at least 01 from Specialised Banks, 01 from CMA, at least 01 from MDIs, and 01 from CAFT. The Council Members hold office for a period of 02 years. Upon their appointment at the Annual General Meeting, the new Council immediately takes office on that 24th day of March (Thursday) of the Year 2022.

The Organisation Chart of the New Council of The Association

The Association is chaired by Canadia Bank Plc., vice-chaired by Maybank (Cambodia) Plc. and has Wing Bank (Cambodia) Plc. as its Treasurer. The other 05 commercial banks are ACLEDA Bank Plc., Cambodian Public Bank Plc. (Campu), Advanced Bank of Asia Limited (ABA), J Trust Royal Bank Plc., and Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited Phnom Penh Branch. Angkor Capital Specialised Bank (“Angkor Capital” or “ACSB”) Plc. represents the 09 Specialised Banks. AMK Microfinance Institution Plc. was appointed by the Board of CMA to represent MDIs on ABC Council. CMA and CAFT are represented by its respective Chairman on ABC Council.

The chairing bank on ABC Council:

Canadia Bank Plc. (the “Bank”) is one of the largest and oldest local commercial banks in Cambodia. It was founded in 1991 and is now present in all Cambodia´s provinces as well as in Laos. The Bank has 3,500 bankers employed over 63 branches across the country. Its key products & services are Loans, Deposits, E-Banking, Remittances, Foreign Exchanges, Bill & Government Payment Services, Trade Finance, Payroll Services, Cash Management, Bancassurances & Stock Brokering Services. The Bank is headed by its Chief Executive Officer & Executive Board Director, Mr Raymond SIA, who has 28 years of experience in Banking, Treasury and Financial Services across multiple senior management roles in Cambodia, Malaysia & Vietnam. Under his leadership, in 2021, the Bank was recognised by The Asian Banker as “The Strongest Bank in Cambodia by Balance Sheet” & “Best Retail Bank”, “Best Domestic Bank” by International Finance Magazine and “Best Bank for SMEs” by Asiamoney.

If you have questions about this release, please contact The Secretariat via e-mail or 023 230 611.